, , , ,

Blockchain Summit CeBIT 2017

At the second day of CeBIT 2017 the first “CeBIT Blockchain Summit” took place. The full day, fee-based, event was very well visited (around 140 tickets sold according to the organisers) and the structure of the international audience varied: some visitors were quite well experienced, others still seeking for a first base understanding what blockchain makes so powerful. It is somehow logical that this diverse knowledge level among the audience members must have been a challenge for the organisers to find the right setup for the summit.

To my mind for the future there is some room for improvement when it comes to a proper structure. It would be beneficial to divide the event into some logical segments like “basics”, “technology” and “business” or so. But besides this the summit was a success. The CeBIT team provided a nice speaker lineup with great talks (among others: Meinhard Benn from Satoshi Pay, Sven Laepple from Astratum or Fabian Vogelsteller from Ethereum), the feedback from the visitors was impressive. I look forward how this format will be developed at CeBIT.

Talking of CeBIT development: on the day following the summit Oliver Frese, head of CeBIT, announced a radically changed CeBIT concept from 2018 onwards: a mixture of business, conference and festival – no longer in March, but in June. Please see the official announcement here. It will be interesting to witness, how this new concept evolves. And what roll blockchain technology will play.

Attached you find some impressions from the summit as well as from the press announcement for CeBIT2018. Last not least there is a link to my CeBIT Blockchain Summit 2017 presentation “Blockchain in Business: Technology Overview and Current Projects.” on Slideshare.

, , , ,

Blockchain Summit CeBIT 2017

Am zweiten Tag der CeBIT 2017 fand das erste „CeBIT Blockchain Summit“ statt. Die ganztägige, kostenpflichtige Veranstaltung war sehr gut besucht – nach Aussage des Organisators wurden ca 140 Tickets verkauft. Das Knowhow des internationalen Publikums war recht unterschiedlich: einige Besucher hatten durchaus tiergehendes Blockchain-Wissen, andere waren auf dem Weg sich ein grundsätzliches Verständnis bezüglich Blockchain anzueignen. Es ist verständlich, dass es bei einer so heterogenen Zielgruppe schwierig ist, ein stimmiges Setup für eine derartige Veranstaltung zu finden.

Meines Erachtens nach würde es helfen, bei einem zukünftigen Summit Vorträge in logischen Segmenten anzubieten, z.B. strukturiert nach „Basics“, „Technologe“ und „Business“. Unabhängig davon war das erste CeBIT Blockchain Summit ein Erfolg. Eine gute Mischung von unterschiedlichen Experten bot interessante Vorträge (u.a. Meinhard Benn von Satoshi PaySven Laepple von Astratum oder Fabian Vogelsteller von Ethereum), das Feedback der Zuhörer war durchweg positiv. Ich freue mich darauf zu erleben, wie sich dieses Format auf der CeBIT entwickelt.

Apropos CeBIT und Entwicklung: am Tag nach dem Blockchain Summit gab der CeBIT Chef Oliver Frese deutliche Änderungen beim CeBIT-Konzept bekannt: zukünftig wird die Veranstaltung aus den Bereichen Business, Konferenz und Festival bestehen. Auch der Termin wird geändert: nicht mehr März, zukünftig Juni. Hier finden Sie die offizielle Verlautbarung der Messegesellschaft. Ich freue mich darauf zu erleben, wie das Konzept CeBIT2018 konkret umgesetzt wird und welche Rolle Blockchain auf der CeBIT2018 spielen wird.

Anbei einige Impressionen von dem Summit und der CeBIT2018-Ankündigung. Schlussendlich noch ein Link zu meiner Präsentation anlässlich des CeBIT 2017 Blockchain Summits.